Mammoth Ivory Scales?

Jim T

I've seen some beautiful knife handles made with mammoth ivory scales. I have a whole bunch of questions.

Are these scales made from the bark of the ivory tusk?
What part of the tusk makes the best scales?
How difficult is it to find a piece of ivory suitable for scales about and inch and a half wide by five inches long and one quarter inch thick?
How difficult is working with ivory?
Should the ivory be professionally stabilized?

I've never worked with mammoth ivory before. I've think I've found a source, but I sure would hate to screw up such an extensive piece of handle material. Comments and advice would be appreciated!

Jim

Jim,
I use a lot of mammoth and love it and so do my customers.
Most of what you will use will be the bark. The coloration is a result of where the fossil was laying. Moisture content, soil ph and mineral compounds heavily influence the color and pattern. Solid color ivory with grain much like wood is usually fairly inexpensive. Crackle finishes and certain colors such as blue and green are pretty rare and can be pricy.

Although several supplies always have some in stock, my first choice for top quality and larger sizes is Charles Turnage at www.fineturnage.com He has premium colors and sizes and is a pleasure to work with and the stuff ships out of texas.

www.tidemammoth.com is from china and has good selction and reasonable prices also.

You just have the treat the material with care and glue up any cracks or voids in the rear with CA before using. Product from Turnage comes fully sanded at the back and edges and is well worth the price. I don't think I've ever had any stabilized and it polishes well with light rouge. You must use care not to overheat it when drilling or buffing as it will burn.

Look at my Forum at my pictures and you will see it in use.
Hope this helps.
Steve