Can I replace springs?

P

Prince of Peace

Alright, I admit it. I am scared to death by the thought of replacing my broken auto springs. I see the "replacement" springs listed on E-Bay in three different sizes. I'm a 53 year old professional driver with the mechanical skills of a ten year old.:1:

I have a Piranha fingerling a Benchmade 3550 and a Mini LUDT all with now more spring action. Been about two years now and I used to love them in my rotation. Now I look at them on a display in my bedroom and dust them as needed.:49:

The MT I don't have the tool for so that's right out. The other two I would like to replace. Any idea if a ham handed ten year old can change these without trouble? And if so any ideas about the spring size I may need?:les:

Thanks in advance for any and all help you may offer.

Peace.

You should be able to send them in to the manufacturer, at least the Benchmade, and they will fix it right up and send it back.

Benchmade is gonna give you a pain in the butt about returning for repair unless you happen to have a buddy who is currently serving in the military or you are a dealer. Last I checked, they wouldn't do repairs on autos for civilians.

If all of your autos have "coil springs", they are real easy to change out. All you have to do is take it apart and slide one spring out and then put the new one in. It's just a matter of lining up the end of the spring with the respective hole. A six year old who knows how to turn a screw driver and put a pin in a hole can do it. Then just put it back together the same way you took it apart. Just make sure you leave the blade open during the entire process.