Ever hit a roadblock that you just can't seen to get past?- or how to make a folder!

Bob Warner

KNIFE MAKER
I have been making knives since 1993 and have made a lot of them. None of them are folders. Why? Because I just cannot wrap my head around folders.

I have read every tutorial I can find on making folders. I have watched Chris Crawfords video on autos and have read several books on it.

For some reason I just can't convince myself that I will not be wasting material.

I even bought a kit knife from knifekits.com to see how they go together. It all makes sense to me but I have problems with two major areas. First is the design itself, making sure it will function correctly. Second, I just know I will drill the wrong hole in the wrong place and ruin something (drill it large and can't thread it or similar) that I cannot fix.

I've been told that folders take the same amount of time as fixed blades and I would love to be able to make them.

I would love to spend a day with someone that makes folders (actually making one, not talking about them) to SEE it done and get over this mental block.

Anyone else have this issue or am I just a nut?

Last edited by a moderator:
You are always welcome to come to my shop to see a folder made, but Minnesota is a long way for you.

Once you see one made you are going to kick yourself for not making them sooner. They are easier than you think.

The only way you are going to get past this is to force yourself out of your comfort zone.