Knife #11 Finished

Erin Burke

{Cross-posted w/ BF}

Hey folks,

I just finished Knife #11 over the weekend. There were a few firsts for me with this knife:

• This is my first time working with Don Hanson's W2. It was quite a change after working with 1080 and 1095 bar stock from Kelly Cupples. Since I am currently only working in stock-removal, I had Don ship the steel to another fine gentleman who forged it down to bars for me (ranging from 1/8" to 1/4" thick). One thing that I noticed immediately upon drilling my first holes in this steel was that it needed to be annealed. I fried a couple of bits before I made that call . Once I had done a sub-critical anneal, it was great to work with. I feel, however, that I did not do this steel justice with my hamon... it seems a bit plain, so I think that I need to use significantly less clay next time.
  • This is my first knife where I installed rear bolsters as well. I kept the blade beefier on this knife, so the additional weight at the butt helped balance things out both physically and aesthetically. On a whim, I scalloped the rear bolsters for a crown-like effect.
Some Stats:
Length: 10-5/8"
Blade: 5-1/2" (tip to choil?)
Steel: Differentially heat-treated ~3/16" W2 (from Don Hanson) Flat-Ground
Handle: Stabilized and Dyed Spalted Maple with hidden pins
Bolsters(Front & Rear): 416ss w/ 416ss peened pins

4750567165_2a65d1ffae_b.jpg

I had a really tough time photographing this knife... I shot three different set-ups in my light-box and, believe-it-or-not, this is the best shot I could come up with. It was very frustrating. BTW, the artwork in the back was painted by my 2-year old daughter Zoe. :D

This knife is going to a friend from my church community group. He used to be an Army Ranger, so I'm hoping he'll appreciate the design.

Let me know what you think.

Erin

#11 huh... wow man!! thats a great looking knife. I am just starting out myself(made 4 or 5) and am no where near your level. great work!